The Village of Woodlawn, OH

Village of Woodlawn Government Page

Council Picture 2022

The Village of Woodlawn operates under the Charter form of government, known as the "Mayor-Council-Manager-Plan" The powers of the municipal government are distributed among the municipality, the electorate, the various elected and appointed officials, and the boards and commissions as provided under the provisions of the charter. The Mayor is the Village's chief elected official, and is also the "President of Council". The Council consists of six members. Members are elected to terms of four (4) years each. The Council chooses a Vice Mayor from its own ranks. Appointed or contracted officials are the Municipal Manager, Finance Director, Law Director, and Clerk of Council.

Council Meetings

Council meetings are held on the last Tuesday of each month, beginning at 7:00 P.M. ( Meeting days and times may vary for summer sessions.) Meetings are open to the public. Residents and interested individuals are cordially invited to attend and participate in Council Meetings. Individuals wishing to speak before the Council may sign up to do so before the meeting begins. All meetings are held in Council Chambers, located in the Woodlawn Municipal Building, 10141 Woodlawn Blvd. We look forward to seeing you! See cable access listings for the televised meetings. 

Please check out VOW Calendar frequently to see updates and times on scheduled meetings, or visit ICRC TV to access the latest community videos. 

2021 Committee Meetings Schedule and Assignments

Village Boards, Committees, and Commissions

All boards and commissions are established by Village Council. The following is a list of Village Boards, Committees and Commissions, and their functions:

Recreation Commission

The Woodlawn Recreation Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor and Council. The Commission serves as an advisory board to the Village Council regarding the recreation needs of the Village.

Planning Commission

Woodlawn Planning Commission shall consist of five (5) members. The composition of the Board shall be as follows:

One (1) The Mayor
One (1) council member
Three (3) citizens of the municipality (appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council).

Planning Commission is responsible for maintaining a Master Plan and the planning and advising of municipal development and redevelopment. The Planning Commission also has responsibilities and powers related to the Woodlawn Zoning Ordinance, including, but not limited to:

  • Reviewing proposed zoning amendments and Planned Unit Development (PUD) applications as filed by property owners, and providing recommendations to Village Council.
  • Review and approve/disapprove Conditional Use applications.
  • Initiate advisable Official Zoning District Map changes or changes in the text of the Code that are in the best interest of the public through a recommendation to the Village Council.

Planning Commission meets on the 2nd Thursday of each month in Council Chambers at 11 AM.

We contract with Hamilton County Planning and Development, for further details call (513)-946-4550 or visit Planning and Development page.  

Board of Zoning Appeals

The Board of Appeals (BZA) shall consist of seven (7) Village of Woodlawn residents.  The composition of the Board shall be as follows: 
  1. Two (2) members of the Council shall be selected annually by the Council.
  2. One (1) member of the Planning Commission shall be selected annually by the Commission.
  3. Four (4) citizens of the Village shall be selected by recommendation of the Mayor with the concurrence of Council. Citizens shall serve four (4) year staggered terms.
The BZA hears and decides appeals where it is alleged that there is an error in any order, requirement, decision, or determination made by the Zoning Officer in the enforcement of the zoning code. Along with certain power and duties, The BZA may also permit exceptions and grant variances as noted in the Planning and Zoning code.

We contract with Hamilton County Planning and Development, for further details call (513)-946-4550 or visit Planning and Development page

Woodlawn Tree Board

The Woodlawn Tree Board consists of five members including the Woodlawn Public Works Director, a member of Council, the Mayor, and two members appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council. The Board is responsible for developing and administering a comprehensive tree management program for Woodlawn and can make recommendations to Council or the Mayor on any actions they deem necessary for the care and preservation of trees and shrubs in the Village.

Tax Board of Review

A Tax Board of Review exists to hear appeals from any person dissatisfied with any rule or decision of the Tax Commissioner.